Self-Management

My 5 Top Tips on Organisation

I’m currently working from home and I know how tough it can be to keep yourself motivated, believe me I’ve been there!

In fact I haven’t been keeping up with my blog in terms of organisation or posting recently, so it’s rather ironic that i’m writing all about being organised, but there you go!

I have a few things that really help me to stay motivated though, and I thought i’d share them with you all in case you were interested or looking for some new tips.

  1. Have a diary/notebook

I used to be awful at keeping a diary or some sort of plan for the day/week/month and would always be stressed as I had no clue what I was doing from one day to the next! I usually can’t keep up with a diary and will last till the end of Janurary, at thelatest before I forget about it for the rest of the year. I know what your all thinking, it’s really bad I know! This year though I was really determined to stick to it and commit to having, keeping AND writing in my diary daily/weekly my plans, even if they were really rough and might change last minute. I’m the sort of person that needs to have some sort of routine so I know what i’m doing day by day, and even week if I think that far ahead.

At the start of the year I was planning to buy a diary but wasn’t sure which one to get. That evening I watched Sprinkle of Glitter aka Louise’s video about her diary and loved the idea of it so much that I had to buy it. I made the right decision!

Sprinkle of Glitter Diary 2016 front cover.jpg

The pages are beautiful and each page has a motivational quote on it for a few days a week, and tips to help you have a good day/week. There are also part ideas, reciepes and tips on self-loving, body image, and other similar issues. I don’t buy into the idea of Youtubers having their own merchandise as a whole, but I was totally convinced by her idea of a diary as it’s something I would look at every day and use regularly. I also bought one of Jim Chapman’s notebooks from his James and Friends stationary range, and would recommend them, they’re lined which is great for people with awful handwriting like myself, and it’s just practical. I’ve found having them both have really helped me become more organised this year.

Jim Chapman's James and Friends A5 Notebook

2. Schedule in breaks

I know everyone says it, but really, do make time for yourself! I always have a 5-10 minute break from my laptop screen every hour or few to have a break and also have a walk or make a drink so that I’m ready to carry on working. I won’t lie, I have resorted to setting myself alarms to remind myself to take a break, crazy I know, but otherwise I can carry on typing for a good few hours without stopping.

3. Have a calender, either online or off-line

I don’t know where I would be without my phone calender now. I have a Samsung A6 and the calender is pretty good, it comes with a Google calender as part of the Google products package, and I tend to schedule in events a few weeks or day in advance so that I know what I’m doing the next few days. The Google calender is also good because it automatically sets an alarm for roughly 5/10 minutes before your scheudled event or plan, to remind you to be there. This has helped me so much already and were only in March!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4. Motivation 

I think being able to motivate yourself is a really good thing to learn or learn to do. I got really good at it in my last job and I think it’s stuck as I got used to that sort of routine for a good few months before I finished. I think i’m naturally fairly self-motivated and I’m not really sure where it started or where it came from, but in my first apprenticeship I had to learn to schedule my time in the day for several different things, and decide how much time i would need to do certain tasks, as it was often just me and my boss or just me when my boss was out at a networking event.

5. Setting yourself targets/goals

Now I’m not one for setting myself goals, if I do it’s usually short-term goals as I can” always stick to long-term goals, but I am defintley one for targets. For example, when I first started blogging I did a blog all about apprenticeships and my experience with them. Working on this defintley helped me in terms of sticking to a schedule, for when posts needed to be up.

I hope this tips helped, if only one or two of them! Do you have any tips for staying organised and keeping yourself motivated? If you do then leave them below, I’d love to know them!

Until next time,

Naomi x

 

2 thoughts on “My 5 Top Tips on Organisation

    1. Thanks very much! 🙂 Yeah, i found it tough to start with but now am getting the hang of it slowly. Yes me too, defintley worth doing! Thankyou for your comment!

Leave a Reply

