Motivational Talk

Motivational talk #1: Confidence and Body Image

So I’ve been absent from this blog for a few weeks now, well absent for you and while I have been drafting, writing and then re-writing posts to go on my blog I haven’t posted anything to go live in a while as I haven’t been sure what to write about in all honesty and have had what I guess what most would call “writers block” !

Writers block image
This has been me recently! 

I’ve been reading loads of blog posts still as this is now a daily thing for me and am reading for inspiration and just to see what others have been up to (cause I’m nosy really, hah), and I’ve been reading blog posts from several youtubers who also write blogs as they often tend to write different things to what they do videos on or more often than not they go into more detail and I do love a long blog post like that! One of those people I have been reading is Sprinkle of Glitter‘s blog which Louise as she’s known to most writes about feminisim, equality, confidence, self-confidence and body image related issues. She has a series as part of her blog called ‘Motivational Monday’, which is a set of blog posts where she talks about things like Body Images, feeling self-confident when you’re really not, positive thinking and other things we all go through. I was inspired by her to start my own series of posts within my own blog, but as I’m not really a morning person or start of the week person rather than sticking to a day like she usually does with a Monday, I thought I’d call it ‘Motivational talk’, so it can apply to any day/time/situation and just be a thing to hopefully pep you and help you through the week or whenever you read it.

There have been a few things recently which have prompted me to think about my self in terms of confidence, e.g. how confident i’m feeling on a particular day or in a certain situation, and what I think about my body and how I look.

Confidence wise I feel ok at the moment, I wouldn’t say I was overly confident or really un-confident right now. I’ve been missing my sister as I haven’t seen her much recently. My friends and family are healthy and my friends are all doing exciting stuff and some starting exciting stuff as of recently. I’m still in the same position as I was, I don’t have a full-time job currently and I still don’t know what I want to do for a job or career. I know most people go through this at some point and feel nervous over the prospect of what am I going to do next, but for me I need to know. I hate not knowing what’s going to happen next, and I have this week planned now but next week is still up in the air and I don’t even know what I’m doing next month. This comes down to my autism again which I have previously done a post about. Here’s the link if you want to read about that in more detail.

Confidence also plays a part in body image and how you see your own body I believe, and recently I’ve been thinking about that. I would say through most of school and sometimes college although less, I’ve constantly compared myself to others and thought about how popular or how many friends someone else had compared to mine, if they had a big group of friends and thought I must be the odd one out because of this. I HATED P.E. for example, as it was always a competition and the other girls in my class were thinner, fitter and just generally better at the sports than me and that would get me down.

I stopped buying as many ‘glossy’ magazines and womens magazines for one, because I noticed it was having a negative effect on how I saw myself and the world around me. It’s so unhealthy to look at people or yourself like that, and the sad fact is that the images in these magazines are SO photoshopped it’s ridiculous. Why didn’t I find this out sooner? Going to college defintley helped improve my body image as I realised that everyone is different, nobody is perfect and we all have imperfections and things we don’t like about ourselves, even the so called popular girls! I  have  friends who are all different but the things they have in common are that they make me laugh and are fun to be around.

I read a post recently which was about writing a list of the things you like about your body, as opposed to disliking which is what we do automatically. I thought i’d give it a go and i’d encourage you to also if you feel ready. I thought of 3 which are: I like my nose as I have a freckle that people often mistake for a nose piercing (always find that funny), I like the freckles on my face as I think they look nice,and I like my arms because well I just do, i can’t think of a reason.

I wonder if any of you reading can relate to this, and have been through something similar or had some form of negative thoughts towards your body and how you view it. Do share below if you’d like and if you have any ideas or topics you’d like me to talk about then do share below.

I think we all need to be kinder to ourselves and focus on what we like about our bodies as opposed to what we don’t like!

Until next time,

Naomi

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Motivational talk #1: Confidence and Body Image

  1. I used to say I liked my arms and no one else got it!!!! Im so glad I’m not the only one haha, I broke my arm a few years back now and have a huge scar on one of them so I’m not so fond anymore.

    Really good post. Every girl goes through insecurities but less so as you get older hopefully 🙂

    1. Haha really? no your not! Oh no, sorry about that! Nothing worse than scars to dent your confidence, I can vouch for that! I still have scars on the top of my arms from acne and summer isn’t always fun for me if I want to get my arms out. Aw thankyou! Yeah i totally agree with that.

Leave a Reply

